2011 Australian Specialty Coffee Championships

Sunkissed Broadbeach, Gold Coast was again the setting for the 2011 Specialty Coffee Championships over the weekend. 4 competitions have been run and won with the winners representing Australia in Bogota, Colombia for the World Barista Championship in June and The Netherlands for Coffee in Good Spirits, Latte Art and Cup Tasting.

The Espresso School made the trip up and judged the Barista Championships in the repechage and semi-finals. This year has certainly been the most competitive field of baristas assembled in the last few years. Four of the 6 finalists were competitors who had won the right to compete from the repechage and semi-final stages, leaving only 2 state champions making it through to the final on Sunday – QLD and TAS.

Big name roasters dominated the competition with the finals makeup consisting of Erin Sampson (VIC – Veneziano Coffee), Craig Simon (VIC – Veneziano Coffee), Matt Perger (VIC – Axil Coffee, Market Lane Coffee), Will Priestley (TAS – Axil Coffee), Jean-Paul Sutton (QLD – Veneziano Coffee) and Ronald Ngo (WA – 5 Senses Coffee).

Congratulations to the following competitors:

Barista Championships

  1. Matt Perger
  2. Erin Sampson
  3. Will Priestley
  4. Jean-Paul Sutton
  5. Craig Simon
  6. Ron Ngo

Coffee in Good Spirits

  1. Mitch Falkner
  2. Emily Ch’ng
  3. No third place

Latte Art

  1. Kirby Berlin
  2. Fiefy Anuwatanaphorn
  3. Scott Luengen

Cup Tasting

  1. Luca Costanzo
  2. Ben Bicknell
  3. Sam Sgambellone
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x